iPad Mini And Other Stories

Aaaand I’m back to Apple products after a couple months of self-convincing that anything else, namely the Surface RT, could compete. I made the EXACT same mistake a couple years ago when I decided to put my iPhone 3G down to pick up the HTC Thunderbolt. I wanted to see what else was out there and the prospect of 4G was very exciting. My mother and I wanted to switch from AT&T to Verizon and I convinced her to try out the Thunderbolt as an introductory phone. The HTC Thunderbolt was such a dismal failure in my opinion (and in Mom’s opinion, too!). I had to recharge it twice a day and Android was just so awful compared to iOS. I felt so bad for putting mummy dearest through the constant cursing at the ThunderDOLT (as she called it) that I sold mine on eBay and bought a couple second-hand iPhone 4’s (not 4S) to make her (and me) happy again.

Obviously, the iPad Mini is just a smaller version of the regular iPad with exactly the same apps and functions. I don’t know what it was, but I never really liked the way the regular iPad felt; it’s kinda heavy and the rounder edges just don’t sit right with me. The Mini’s edges are more square which feel nicer to hold and looks better, too. It’s also super light and can easily be held and used with one hand. I am also a huge fan of more screen and less bezel. The bezels on the Mini’s side are much narrower which gives it a really smart and cool look.

I have no problem with transitioning to the Lightning connector. Actually, I have one problem. I heard rumors that Apple have made it impossible for third parties to produce their own Lightning connectors, thus restricting us to buying solely from Apple and its partners (such as Best Buy and Walmart). This is somewhat understandable, but quite “evil-monopoly-corporation” if you ask me. But otherwise, I have both the old and new now. Those who complain that they won’t be able to charge their iDevices at their friend’s place because they don’t have a Lightning connector *yet*, fear not. Pretty soon, all households will have a Lightning connector merely due to the fact that Apple has such a huge customer base and many, many Apple fans will own an iDevice that use a Lightning connector soon enough.

BUT, many have devices that work with Apple’s old 30-pin connector, such as speaker docks etc. This indeed puts those who own such devices between a rock and a hard place. Apple have priced the Lightning-to-30-pin adapter at a criminal $30. What is this, a dollar a pin?? Not cool, Apple, not cool. But then again, Apple is Apple and iFans are iFans, and despite that price tag for an adapter, we will (somewhat grudgingly) shell out to make our iCompatible Devices work with what we have until we upgrade.

Back to the Mini. Some are wary of its non-retina, lower resolution screen. But I don’t think that should be an issue; it still looks great. I’m not sure why people make a fuss about how letters aren’t as sharp on non-retina screens. Does it really make a difference in the reading quality? I don’t think so. Don’t get me wrong, I am a quality freak and I want the highest possible resolution and quality when I watch videos etc. But by no means will my Mini be my primary video watching tool. That would be my TV or laptop. And if you’re a video quality freak, you wouldn’t likely use your iPad, retina or not, to watch Planet Earth in HD.

Leave a Reply

